Places to Learn Forgotten Arts in DFW

The early months of each New Year are often spent working on resolutions and trying to shed the aftermath of the holiday feeding frenzy!  But this year I’m working on two important resolutions (that I will most likely abandon by early April) spending a bit more time doing my cardio routine (shopping in stores instead of online for clients) and taking on a new hobby. I researched some lesser known or forgotten art forms that are still being taught in the DFW area and decided these would be a great new hobby for myself.  They all are so fun and unique that you will want to try them all with me!

Dress Making & Sewing

 Places To Learn Forgotten Arts In North Texas

Photo Credit: Thinkstock.com

Bernina of Plano
2400 Avenue K
Plano, Texas 75074

OR

Bernina of Dallas
12801 Midway Rd. LBJ, Suite 410
Dallas, Texas 75244
www.bestofbernina.com

As a wardrobe consultant, dressmaking and sewing are of particular interest to me; however, my fashion skills are focused around selecting the perfect pieces for my clients, not creating them.  Since my sewing skills are so very beginner, I decided to find a sewing class that could help me learn the basics of clothing construction.  The Bernina Sewing Centers of Plano & Dallas offer a wide range of sewing courses, from dress making to heirloom work.  They also offer private lessons and even have classes for children.  Best of all, the “Sew Easy Lounge” is limited to four students at a time for hands on help with the sewing basics or a particularly difficult sewing project.  Classes range from $24 to $72.

Read the rest of my article for CBS DFW.

Leave a comment

Filed under CBS DFW

Leave a Reply

